Zucchini Choco-Pecan Muffins

Zucchini Choco-Pecan Muffins

Disclosure: This recipe does not include butter but it does include my favorite baking secret… using apple sauce instead of vegetable oil! YES! You can replace vegetable oil with apple sauce, I’m not lying, 1:1 Google it if you don’t believe me.

So back in November (i.e. Thanksgiving) I had a little incident relating to my health (read “I passed the F out” but when you have Cancer you can’t just pass out and go on with your day, you have to go to the ER) but we were on an island so it was a whole ordeal for me, my family and the local fire department (who were very nice about it and to me for ruining their holiday weekend).

So, fast forward to Memorial day weekend and the Memorial Day Seastretcher (my chariot across the sea that fateful November day when I passed out) race on our little island this coming Sunday.  I asked to help out (to repay my passing out debt) and I was given the job of recruiting bakers and to bake something myself. They couldn’t have given me a better job. I love to bake and hadn’t had a chance to bake something in awhile due to my restricted diet.

(Cue Rockey soundtrack) I love zucchini bread.  It’s magical, I think any vegetable that can become a delicious dessert is magic.  And this zucchini bread is pretty GD healthy on a scale of 1 to GD healthy if you ask me if I was going to make it keto friendly I would only change 2 things (the brown sugar and the applesauce to stevia and coconut oil).  I mean it’s still a dessert so moderation but you could do worse (I’m looking at you Mom).

IMG_7102

I knicked this recipie off King Arthur’s and modified it!

Ingredient List:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cup of coconut nectar (you could also use honey)
  • 1/2 cup of applesauce
  • 1/3 cup of brown sugar
  • 2 cups of all-purpose gluten-free flour
  • 1 teaspoon
  • 1/2 teaspoon xantham gum
  • 1/2 baking powder
  • 1/2 baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 cups shredded zucchini (1 unpeeled zucchini)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup pecans

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit, get your muffin tin ready.  If you have two all the better, this makes a pretty big batch.
  2. In a large bowl, beat the eggs, nectar or honey, applesauce, sugar, and vanilla until smooth.
  3. Add the flour, salt, xantham gum, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon, mixing until well combined.  (Not gonna lie here I couldn’t find a teaspoon measure-er so I kinda just used a regular teaspoon and was just eyeballing it and mine came out fun, the lesson here – have fun with baking you can’t really go that wrong).
  4. Stir in the zucchini, chocolate chips, and nuts.
  5. Portion out into muffin tin (I used a 1/4 cup) and got about a tin and a half.

 

Leave a Reply

